Bulldogs And Wildcats Participate At EC Invite

first_imgThe Franklin County boys cross country team had three top 15 finishers. Senior, Cody Moore was the top runner for Franklin County with a time of 18:40, which earned him 7th place. Even Apsley, a senior, placed 8th, with a time of 18:58. Freshman, Andrew Grant, placed 13th, with a time of 20:39. Senior, Hunter Mayfield, had a personal record. His time of 24:08 was 25 seconds faster than his previous record. The boys’ Wildcat cross country team is continuing to have consistent times, which are competitive and earning multiple awards at meets. It was a very pleasant night tonight, with actually a little bit of chill in the air as the Batesville Bulldog Cross Country team competed at the East Central 7-team invitational.  Although the meet was scored as a team with all 7 teams competing in one race, the individual awards were broken down in two divisions.  The top 15 in both “big” schools and “small” schools received awards.All of the Batesville runners were in the top 15 of their division and came home with an individual award.  Batesville’s Joshua Myers was the overall winner, just beating out East Central’s senior Andrew White by just 2 tenths of a second.  Joshua finished at 17:26 to Andrew’s 17:26.2.  Adam Moster  came through  3rd place overall, but 2nd in our division at 17:46. Dillon Murray was Batesville next finisher at 4th place (18:42) followed closely by teammates Christopher Laymon, 5th (18:51), and Quinten Gowdy, 7th (18:52).  Joseph Choi powered through in 8th (19:04) with John Thompson 4 seconds behind (19:08) claiming the 9th spot.  Overall The Dogs came up just short to the East Central trojans by 7 points.  East Central finished with 34 points to Batesville’s 41.  Greensburg finished out the top 3 at 116 points.On the girls side, Batesville came in 3rd place with 52 points, battling with East Central with 41 and Greensburg taking the championship at 37.  Individually for the girls, Liz Loichinger was the first Bulldogs to cross the finish line at 3rd overall and in our division (20:45) as both Brenner Hanna(1st) and Cathy Newhart(2nd) from Greensburg crossed before her. Next for the Bulldogs was Haylee Harmeyer, 4th (21:26) followed closely by Emma Gausman, 6th (21:47).  Next for the Bulldogs were Audrey Weigel, 11th, Trysta Vierling, 12th and Audrey Maupin, 13th (23:02), (23:03) and (23:16). Finishing out the top 7 for the Bulldogs and taking the last award spot was Cheyenne Laker in 15th at 23:54.The final race of the night was the JV race. Although it wasn’t team scored they did give awards to the top ten.  Batesville also was the overall winner in the JV boys race, as Nathan Ecktein finished the race over 40 seconds ahead the rest of the field (18:51).  In fact, Batesville claimed 6 out of the 10 award spots.  The other 5 Bulldogs to finish in the top ten were: Charlie Laymon, 2nd, Luke Esser, 3rd, Garrett Wagner, 4th, Adam Hollowell, 6th and Nathan Villani, 10th.  On the girls side Batesville claimed two of those top 10 spots.  Lexie Huber came in 2nd and Britany Venis 5th.Batesville did have 3 runners earn personal bests and they were: Luke Esser, Nathan Eckstein and Trysta Vierling.Congratulations to Everyone! Batesville travels Ben Davis in Indianapolis on Saturday morning.  First race is at 9:30!Courtesy of Bulldogs Coach Lisa Gausman.The Franklin County Girls cross country team earned 5th place at the East Central Invitational. Sophomore, Katelyn Meyer, was the top finisher for Franklin County. Her time of 23:32 was a personal record and earned her 7th place. Junior, Taylor Stewart, won 10th place with a time of 24:38. Kairee Hodapp finished 12th with a time of 25:03. The Franklin County Wildcats runners were happy with three top 15 finishes. Courtesy of Wildcats Coach Stacey Nobbe.last_img read more